发掘食品正义的故事

 

 

 

最近,马尔文图书馆与 FoodShare 和全国农民联盟 (NFU) 合作举办了一场电影放映和小组讨论,重点是揭露食品正义的故事。晚会象征着“分享”——分享食物、分享想法和分享艺术。

全国农民联盟 (NFU) 于 2023 年启动了他们的“田野深处”项目,拍摄了 40 部关于加拿大各地农民的短片。该项目的目标是激励加拿大食客更多地了解农业以及加拿大各地社区农民的深思熟虑的承诺,就像“田野深处”中展示的农民一样,他们为建立一个造福人民和土地的繁荣食品体系做出了贡献。我们在这次活动中放映了三部电影:Lucky Bug Farm(安大略省)、Ga Gitigemi Gamik(We Will Plant Lodge)(安大略省)和 Back to Roots Farm(马尼托巴省)。这些电影中的农民谈到了土著复兴、文化食品、再生实践、粮食主权和社区,所有这些都是 MFRC 员工和社区成员在 Malvern Urban Farm 以及我们其他食品正义工作中所做的工作背后的重要思想。您可以在这里找到这些电影和所有其他电影: https://www.nfu.ca/filmsaboutfarming/

马尔文家庭资源中心与 FoodShare 的食物权利运动和多伦多美食故事艺术家驻留计划合作,将这一活动变为现实。从 2023 年 8 月到 2024 年 1 月,来自全市各地的艺术家通过参加研讨会、实地考察和与在当地社区和整个城市工作的组织进行亲身体验,沉浸在与食品正义相关的学习中。驻留的主要目标是:

  • 强调致力于捍卫社区食物权利的组织的叙述。
  • 利用艺术创作过程来引起人们对多伦多紧急粮食不安全危机的关注,以及它如何在整个城市的不同社区中体现。
  • 在艺术家和社区组织者之间建立有意义的联系,致力于在他们的社区建立粮食安全。

Sun 是一位多媒体、神经多样性、非二元性、酷儿泰米尔艺术家,被选为多伦多东部艺术家。他们在活动中推出了自己的杂志。杂志名为《饮食难》,但粮食主权是一段充满奇迹、社区和魔力的旅程!他们的指导问题包括:

  • 对您来说,食物的快乐是什么样的?
  • 什么食物会让你兴奋?
  • 您和食物的关系中有什么是您想改变的吗?
  • 您想保留什么东西?
  • 食物如何将您与社区联系起来?
  • 您眼中的粮食主权是什么样的?

他们还在自己的作品中对食物主权做出了精彩的定义:从种植到烹饪再到餐桌,选择食物的能力。你值得拥有符合文化、足够饱腹、且可以得到尊重的食物。

粮食主权是一个过程,MFRC 正努力通过 2024-2026 年粮食战略将其纳入我们的所有工作。并非每个人都想自己种植粮食,他们也不应该为了吃东西而不得不种植粮食。在食客和种植者之间建立联系有助于解决这一挑战,这一挑战在当晚的最后一部分:农民小组中进行了讨论。

赫梅拉·塔菲斯 (Hermmela Tafesse) 是一位土木工程工作者和多学科艺术家,她与马尔文城市农场的两位社区农民苏马蒂·坦坎 (Sumathy Thankan) 和詹妮弗·福德 (Jennifer Forde) 一起参加了此次活动。詹妮弗还是庭院和斯卡伯勒农贸市场的创始人。三位小组成员谈到了他们如何从事农业工作,以及通过食物、获得种植空间以及粮食主权带来的可能性建立社区联系的重要性。

食物权协调员之一汉塞尔用以下声明完美地结束了小组讨论:“社区有权要求、有权要求他们需要的东西。”食物就是这些权利之一。

我们希望您留下的一些问题和思考内容是:您希望您的社区在获取食物、种植空间和绿地的方式上有何不同?

我们希望您能参加 MFRC 农贸市场以及今年夏天即将举行的其他活动,并继续思考您的答案以及我们如何才能更好地要求我们的社区食品系统!

博客来自
Claire Perttula,食品正义项目协调员

滚动到顶部

Unearthing Stories of Food Justice

 

 

 

A film screening and panel discussion focused on bringing to light stories of food justice took place recently at Malvern Library, in partnership with FoodShare and the National Farmers Union (NFU). The evening symbolized ‘sharing’- sharing food, sharing ideas, and sharing art.

The National Farmers Union (NFU) launched their Depth of Field project in 2023, filming 40 short films about farmers all across Canada. The goal of the project is to inspire Canadian eaters to learn more about farming and the thoughtful commitment of farmers in communities all across Canada, like the ones featured in Depth of Field, that contribute to building a thriving food system benefiting people and the land. We screened three films at this event: Lucky Bug Farm (Ontario), Ga Gitigemi Gamik (We Will Plant Lodge) (Ontario), and Back to Roots Farm (Manitoba). The farmers featured in these films spoke about Indigenous resurgence, cultural foods, regenerative practices, food sovereignty, and community, all of which are important ideas behind the work MFRC staff and community members do at Malvern Urban Farm and through the rest of our food justice work. You can find these films and all the others here: https://www.nfu.ca/filmsaboutfarming/

Malvern Family Resource Centre partnered with FoodShare’s Right to Food campaign and Toronto Food Stories artist residency program to bring this event to life. From August 2023 to January 2024, artists from across the city were immersed in food justice-related learning through participation in workshops, site visits, and hands-on experiences with organizations working in their local communities and the city at large. The primary goals of the residency were to:

  • Highlight the narratives of organizations that are working to defend the food rights of their communities.
  • Use the art-making process to draw attention to the urgent crisis of food insecurity in Toronto and how it manifests in different neighborhoods across the city.
  • Build meaningful connections between artists and community organizers working towards building food security in their neighborhoods.

Sun, a multimedia, Neurodivergent, Nonbinary, Queer Tamil artist, was selected as the East Toronto artist. They launched their zine at the event. It’s called Eating is Hard but food sovereignty is a journey full of wonder, community, and magic! Their guiding questions included:

  • What does food joy look like to you?
  • What about food makes you excited?
  • Is there anything in your relationship with food that you’d like to change?
  • What about things do you want to keep?
  • How does food connect you to your community?
  • What would food sovereignty look like to you?

They also included a beautiful definition of food sovereignty in their work: the empowered ability to choose your food, from growing to cooking to your table. You deserve food that is culturally relevant, filling enough, and respectfully accessed.

Food sovereignty is a process, and it is something that MFRC is striving to include in all of our work through our food strategy for 2024-2026. Not everyone wants to grow their own food, and they shouldn’t have to in order to eat. Building connections between eaters and growers helps to get around this challenge, which was discussed during the final portion of the evening: the farmer panel.

Hermmela Tafesse, an earthworker and multidisciplinary artist, was joined by two community farmers from Malvern Urban Farm, Sumathy Thankan, and Jennifer Forde. Jennifer is also the founder of the Courtyard and Scarborough Farmers’ Markets. The three panelists spoke about how they found themselves working in agriculture, and the importance of community connections through food, access to growing space, and the possibilities that food sovereignty brings.

Hansel, one of the Right to Food coordinators, wrapped the panel nicely with the following statement: “communities have the right to ask for, to demand the things they need.” Food is one of these rights.

Some of the questions and food for thought we would like you to leave with are: What do you wish was different about how your community accesses food, growing space, and green space?

We hope you join us at the MFRC farmers’ market and at other events coming up this summer and continue to think about your answer and about how we can demand better from our community food systems!

Blog by
Claire Perttula, Food Justice Projects Coordinator

Scroll to Top